California Marijuana Laws – All you Need to Know
California is one of the many states in the United States to legalize marijuana, something that others are still and will continue to battle for years to come. Not only do these rules apply to citizens of California but also any resident in the United States or foreign country visiting the state.
Though it is legal, there are some rules and regulations that everyone is required to follow which include:
- Buyers must be at least 21 years old
- Maximum possession is about an ounce or 28.5 grams
- Buyers may not share or sell to anyone under the age of 21
- It is illegal to drive under the influence
- It is illegal to smoke in public places
- It is illegal to smoke in public spaces, even if smoking tobacco is permitted
- Smoking marijuana is legal on private property however owners have the right to set their own rules
- It is illegal to travel with marijuana and leave the state of California even if traveling to another state that has legalized its use
According to the laws set forth by the state of California, any amount of 28.5 grams is considered punishable by law. The punishment classifies as a misdemeanor where violators could either face 6 months in jail or a $500 fine.
For those that are under the legal age of use (18) that are caught in possession of the substance, they could face a fine of up to $250 and up to 10 days in prison. Still, much of this depends on the number of offenses and the situation in which one is caught.
Because the laws in the state of California are clear, violators can be sentenced. However, there are several exceptions. For example, if it is a first-time offense, there was no violence involved, and no other hard illegal substances were involved, the violator will not face jail time.
Instead, those that violate the law may walk away with a warning or may have to complete a few years of probation. It all depends on the offense and the amount of marijuana in possession, two things that could drive up the punishment.
Getting It Off your Record: Present and Past
Because recreational use is no longer illegal, those who have a prior offense on their record can have it expunged. These are eligible for expungement or to be sealed from public view, as long as the offense was minor and within the current laws concerning marijuana use in the state of California.
Know your Rights
The use of marijuana legally in the state of California is something fairly new. If you’ve been convicted or have questions or concerns about your habits, given a California criminal law office a call.
They can help you navigate the process and fight for your rights. Siting through all of the exceptions of the laws can be time-consuming and confusing. That’s why you should leave it to the experts and let them handle your cases for you.